top of page

Cosplay Makeup

There's nothing like making a wonderful, beautiful cosplay, finally being able to wear it...and not having any makeup on. Cosplay makeup is the finishing touch; the cherry on the cake, the final touch of magic. There is a lot you can do with it.

This post is not about makeup basics or how to do makeup or anything. This is a compilation of really nice source/inspiration for the cosplays I am working on now! When looking for references, this is the kind of process I have.

For my piccolo cosplay, because I'm not doing a 100% canon version, there are some choices I have to make. I'm choosing to do a more feminine version; I'm making an accurate costume but I'm not fully gender-bending.

Besides the green skin, I'm going to do a full face of makeup probably; eyes, contour, lips, eyebrows. Everything is going to be green 'themed' however, so that's what I started looking for. Think about the colors you want to use, the products you have, the shapes and effects you want to achieve, and above all else, PRACTICE YOUR MAKEUP! Test things out! Make sure you can recreate exactly the look you want to.

All of these images were just found on google. Credit goes to the original creators of course.

These are just some of the references I might use. Cosplay makeup is different from street makeup, so you have to also think about what kind of look you want to make your face have.

Beyond this particular cosplay, here are some other useful varieties of ideas. Eye shape is very important, and help your character be easily identifiable, especially if it is a non-hyper realistic character.

Hope this helps!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean

© 2023 by DO IT YOURSELF. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page